Tips for Dealing With Depression, Anxiety and ADHD

Amber Fraley
6 min readFeb 5, 2022
Image by Clker-Free-Vector-Images from Pixabay

If you’re like millions of people who live with one or all of these issues, you’re likely not going to ever completely conquer them. Unfortunately, you have to learn to live with them, but there are tips and tricks for making your life more manageable. These tips help me from becoming frustrated and wasting a lot of time.

Make permanent homes for important objects — or get multiples

People with ADHD have problems with something called “object permanence,” which is related to having an anxious-style attachment with your caregivers growing up. (In a nutshell, if you grew up in a dysfunctional or abusive home, you’re more likely to have ADHD.)

I used to lose my keys several times a week. For a time when my husband was commuting out of town and leaving the house earlier than me in the morning, I would often resort to calling him at work in a panic to ask him if he’d seen my keys, which was unfair to him and wasted both his time and mine. Now that we live in a house with a windowless garage, I never lose my keys because I leave them in the ignition of my car. If I absentmindedly pull them from the ignition and walk into the house with them, as soon as I realize they’re in my hand, I turn around and put them back in the car before I set them down somewhere in the house and…

--

--

Amber Fraley

Writing about abortion rights, mental illness, trauma, narcissistic abuse & survival, politics. Journalist, novelist, wife, mom, Kansan, repro rights activist.