White Women, Wake Up

You’re embarrassing the rest of us, and endangering all of America’s daughters

Amber Fraley
4 min readOct 20, 2023

--

Photo by Isabella Fischer on Unsplash

There’s a Twitter thread I keep returning to and re-reading, because I cannot get over how gob-smackingly self-hating it is on so many levels. It was started by a white, conservative Christian woman who fancies herself some sort of social media influencer, pushing the conservative lifestyle on other white women.

She’s got a Twitter following of 30 thousand people, and she and her husband have their own conservative podcast with about 4 million subscribers, so this woman is no Ann Coulter, but she’s clearly working on it. I don’t want to identify her or her podcast because I don’t want to give her any publicity, so you’ll just have to trust me that she’s real.

Here’s her Tweet, which she posted at the beginning of October:

Conservative women have been fighting feminism, fighting abortion, and fighting for traditional values for years and making real progress only to have Right wing men turn on us in 2023, bitterly blaming *all* women for what’s wrong in society. It’s such an incredible betrayal.

I’ve re-read that Tweet again and again, amazed. This is what I hear in my head when I read it — Conservative women made ourselves insignificant and politically powerless for our men and

--

--

Amber Fraley

Writing about abortion rights, mental illness, trauma, narcissistic abuse & survival, politics. Journalist, novelist, wife, mom, Kansan, repro rights activist.